Tuesday, April 25, 2006

Accolades For Coe’s Katrina Trip

It wasn’t exactly the Pulitzer Prize, as won by the Sun Herald in Biloxi and Gulfport for its coverage of Hurricane Katrina and its aftermath, but Coe’s alternative Spring Break service mission to the Gulf Coast was well represented at the annual Leadership Convocation on April 18.

The trip received the Outstanding Community Service Award and several participants took home individual honors.

Among faculty and staff, Business Professor Barb Larew was named the Outstanding Faculty Mentor. College Chaplain Kristin Hutson won the Diversity Staff Advocacy Award and was nominated for the Outstanding Staff Mentor Award, as was Reservations Coordinator Tammy Edwards. Math Professor Kent Herron received the Outstanding Philanthropic Contribution Award for his financial support of the trip.

Among student participants, Jase Jensen received the Kohawk Spirit Award and was nominated for the Outstanding Senior Award and the Leadership Award for Campus Commitment. Chelsie Reifschneider was also nominated for the Outstanding Senior Award and Steph Beecher was nominated for the Outstanding Sophomore Award.

Kaitlin Emig and Susan Pelechek represented the Katrina trip as graduates of Coe’s Crimson Leadership Program.

Meanwhile, the trip is the cover story for the spring issue of the Coe Courier. Click here to view the magazine.